I have a penchant for consuming more caffeine than is suitable for a person of my size. My body lets me know this on a daily basis by fighting back with that tingling feel in my cheeks and chest, a clammy sweat (attractive, huh?), an inability to focus on one task at a time, and random heart palpitations. Yet, this seemingly unhealthy addiction does have its upside: by refusing to let me sit still (or sleep), my caffeine buzz forces me to move, to read, to make lists, to actually attack those lists (sometimes)…

So, caffeinated in the proper (or improper) fashion, I decided that on this particular afternoon, that my excess energy would best be spent squeezing ten million (not really, but that’s what it seemed like) key limes into Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Lime Cheesecake (even though key limes were my addition–I was feeling summery). Now, if you’ve never had the pleasure and privilege of immersing yourself into the recipes of Nigella Lawson, I would have to say you really deserve it to yourself to pull one of her numerous cookbooks off the Borders or Barnes & Noble shelves and  flip through one of the more sumptuous styles of recipe writing that I have come across. Despite the obvious sinful pleasure of Lawson’s lime cheesecake with a buttery chocolate cookie crumble bottom, I just cannot pass up the opportunity to read and wade through directions that unfold like a trashy romance: “You want to be able to detect, below the skin, the slightest, sexiest hint of a quiver within” (http://www.nigella.com/recipe/recipe_detail.aspx?rid=20008).  Yes my friend, when you’re under Nigella’s wing, that’s how you know when your cheesecake is set and ready to take out of the oven.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Nigella,

How do you do it? How do you manage to finagle the most mouth-watering, tangy and sweet, rich and refreshing cheesecake and compose a recipe that is as seductive to read as it is to let melt in your mouth? Anyways, thanks!

Love,

Me

